General University of Maine Publications

Document Type



B. A. Burr

Rights and Access Note

Rights assessment remains the responsibility of the researcher. No known restrictions on publication. For information about the process and fees for obtaining higher resolution scans or another file format, contact Special Collections

Publication Date


Publisher location

Bangor, Maine

Abstract/ Summary

This catalog for the Maine State College of Agriculture and the Mechanic Arts for the year 1870 lists the trustees, faculty, students, and provides information about the design of the institution, conditions of admission, course of study, labor, location, farm and buildings, library, reading room, cabinet, literary society, public worship, expenses and how to defray them, a general statement on policies and the academic calendar.

Faculty members listed include Merritt C. Fernald, Samuel Johnson, Stephen F. Peckham, John Swift, Mrs. Mary L. Fernald, Calvin Cutter, Corydon B. Lakin, X. A. Willard, A. S. Packard Jr., James J. H. Gregory, and E. S. Morse.

Students listed in the junior class were: William Harvey George, George Everett Hammond, Edwin James Haskell, Heddle Hilliard, Oren Shaw Sargent, Eber Davis Thomas, Benjamin Franklin Watson, and George Osmer Weston.

Sophomore class: Joseph Eliot Payson Clark, John Jackson (noted as deceased), Samuel Lane, John Marshall Oak, Frederic Alexander Ransom, Charles Emery Reed, Frank Lamson Scribner, Marcus Peltiah Shorey (noted as deceased), and Harvey Bates Thayer.

Freshman class: Frank Pierce Burleigh, Mark Emery Burnham, Louville Curtis, Roland Curtis, Willie Herbert Gerrish, Rodney David Hunter, Wilbur Fremont Lovejoy, Samuel Campbell Moore, Charles Frederic Osgood, William Henry Reed, George Irving Trickey, Manley Hacker Whitehouse, Edward Ricker Wingate, and William Ireland Wood.


publisher's version of the published document



Rights Statement

No Known Copyright