General University of Maine Publications

Document Type

Media Guide


Brent Williamson


University of Maine Printing Services

Publication Date


Publisher location

Orono, Maine

Abstract/ Summary

Consistently labelled the strongest conference from top to bottom, the Hockey East Association, encompassing 10 established Division-I hockey programs, celebrates its 22nd season in 2005-06. Hockey East has continued a steady rise to prominence since its founding charter on July 11, 1983, when the possibility of an apparent Ivy League break-off threatened the existence of the ECAC. In response, the Athletics Directors from Boston College, Boston University, New Hampshire, Northeastern and Providence announced the formation of a new Division I men's ice hockey conference. Togethe1; William Flynn of Boston College, John Simpson of Boston University, Andy Mouradian of New Hampshire, Joe Zabilski of Northeastern, and Lou Lamoriello of Providence launched Hockey East. Lamoriello assumed the role of the league's first-ever commissioner.


publisher's version of the published document

Rights and Access Note

This Item is protected by copyright and/or related rights. You are free to use this Item in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. In addition, no permission is required from the rights-holder(s) for non-commercial uses. For other uses, you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s). For more information, contact Special Collections.



Rights Statement

In Copyright - Non-Commercial Use Permitted