Additional Participants

Graduate Student

Anak Agung
Chris Brehme
DongMei Chen
Thomas Cova
Robert DenOuden
Valerie Hartung
Jeffrey Knight
Sudha Maheshwari
Karen Mulcahy
Mark Patterson
Shawn Penman
Andrew Rowen
Rhonda Ryzner
Steven Schill
Lauren Scott
Michael Scott
Renee Sieber
Jeff Siegel
Paul Sutton
Nikolay Todorov
Paul Van Zuyle

Organizational Partners

University Consortium for Geographic Information Science (UCGIS)

Project Period

March 15, 1997-February 28, 1998

Level of Access

Open-Access Report

Grant Number


Submission Date



SBR-9617695 This award supports the provision of small travel grants to graduate students from U.S. institutions to assist their attendance and participation in the 1997 Annual Assembly of the University Consortium for Geographic Information Science. Students to be so supported will be selected on the basis of a panel review of their 2000-word abstracts of the presentations they plan to make at the assembly. Grants will not be made to students based within 250 miles of the assembly (to be held in Maine). The assembly has two components: the exchange of research findings and progress among researchers and students (their presentations are to be integrated within sessions), and the identification of priorities for education (primarily college and graduate) in the interdisciplinary field of geographic information science. This small award fulfills two major goals of NSF: the development and dissemination of improved tools for scientific analysis, and the integration of research and education.

Rights and Access Note

This Item is protected by copyright and/or related rights. You are free to use this Item in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. In addition, no permission is required from the rights-holder(s) for educational uses. For other uses, you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s).



Rights Statement

In Copyright - Educational Use Permitted.