Download Collection Finding Aid (104 KB)


The University of Maine System (UMS) is the state university system in the state of Maine. It was created in 1968 by the Maine Legislature and consists of the University of Maine, University of Maine at Augusta, University of Maine at Farmington, University of Maine at Fort Kent, University of Maine at Machias, University of Maine at Presque Isle, University of Southern Maine, and University of Maine School of Law.

The records in this record group cover different University of Maine System initiatives, including the work of the New Challenges/New Directions Task Force tasked with reviewing UMS services that sought feedback from UMS stakeholders and experts; and the Maine Economic Improvement Fund (MEIF) that was established by the Maine Legislature in 1997 to leverage economic development through targeted investment in university-based R&D.

The majority of the records were created during the tenures of University of Maine System chancellors: Terry MacTaggart (1998-2001 and 2006-2007), Joseph W. Westphal (2002-2006), and Richard Pattenaude (2007-2012).

Publication Date





Higher Education

Size of Collection

3 boxes

Dates of Collection

1965-2014, bulk 1998-2014

Manuscript Number

UA RG 0002

University of Maine System (University of Maine) Records, 1965-2014