Document Type

Grant Application

Project/Presentation Title

Spring 2004 New Writing Series


English Department


Organization Officer: Steve Evans


Bill Luoma

John Wilkinson

Anita Skeen

Karen MacCormack

Joshua Clover

Stephen Rodefer

Rosa Alcala

Keith Waldrop

Jackson MacLow

Anne Tardos

Christian Bok



Project Period

FY 2003 - 2004

Event Sponsor

Cultural Affairs and Distinguished Lecture Series

Project Abstract/ Summary

The primary objectives of the New Writing Series are (i) to make contemporary poetry and fiction a valued part of the cultural life at the University of Maine, (ii) to broaden the University's local, national, and international reputation as a site of vibrant cultural exchange and creativity, and (iii) to cultivate links within the University as well as between the University and area secondary schools that foster imaginative approaches to thinking about contemporary literary practices. Whereas developing an audience for individual events can be difficult, a Series creates an ongoing context for the exploration of contemporary writing and signals a more serious level of commitment to the inclusion of the literary arts in the cultural repertoire of campus and community life.