Document Type

Grant Application

Project/Presentation Title

The New Writing Series, Spring 2016


Emily Fridlund

John R. Keene

Prageeta Sharma

Divya Victor

Joanna Walsh

John Yau


Fall 2015

Project Period

FY 2015-2016

Event Sponsor

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Project Abstract/ Summary

In its thirty-fourth consecutive semester of programming, the New Writing Series will host six readings featuring four poets (John Keene, Prageeta Sharma, Divya Victor, and John Yau) and two fiction writers (Emily Fridlund and Joanna Walsh).

These writers are all highly active across the full spectrum of literary activity. They are editors, publishers, and anthologists; translators and tale-tellers; art-makers and trail-blazing scholars.

The New Writing Series brings innovative and adventurous contemporary writing to the University of Maine's flagship campus in Orono on selected Thursdays at 4:30pm.

Approval Status